Running 1C Enterprise on virtual infrastructure

Discussing the best practices of 1C:Enterprise implementation, sharing the business-level of 1C:Enterprise implementation experience.

People who like this:0Yes/0No
Just came
Rating: 0
Company: NBC Universal

Hi

My organisation is planning to deploy 1C Enterprise in the next couple of weeks. As an infrastructure engineer, I would like find out what is and what is not supported.

Server configurations for 1C Enterprise infrastructure:
• Using two modes = Client/server mode and Web client
• Working server and web server for Payroll = 1 x Windows 2008 R2
• Working server and web server for HR = 1 x Windows 2008 R2
• Database = MS SQL 2008 Standard Server (clustered)

1. Can 1C Enterprise 8.2 and 8.3 be hosted on virtual servers using VMware vSphere 5.0 hypervisor?

2. What is 1C Enterprise's current version for Payroll and HR?

3. We have 20 concurrent users using Payroll and HR systems (two servers), with an average usage, what is the recommended server specifications for CPU and Memory?

4. Software Licensing - using electronic license, is the product license different for Payroll and HR?

Please reply asap and thanks in advance.

Just came
Rating: 1
Company:

1. Yes, it can be hosted.
2. Don't know.)
3. Remember, that virtual server have got max 80% performance from physical server.
4. If you'll use  hardware license, you'll need "usb-over-network" or another "this kind" software to broadcast your license to virtual server.

Some my questions:
Why two servers for one configuration - you'll need to buy two 1C server licenses for each server?

It will be better, as i think, one Application server with 1C server and web server, one Terminal server for users and DB server with SQL. As you buying  Standart SQL, so i don't think that you base growing too fast. Hardware for SQL for example: 2-3 fast Xeon's, 16-24gb RAM, SSD for system, SAS Raid for DB. Application server doesn't need too many resources.