Restrictions on importing configurations from XML files


If you wish to leave comments or ask questions, please log on or sign up.
This feature is implemented in 1C:Enterprise version 8.3.10.2168.

The configuration support mechanism and the configuration repository mechanism imply that configuration changes are made according to certain rules. Compliance with these rules ensures that the configuration will work properly in the future.

The mechanism for saving configurations to .cf files and loading them from .cf files takes into account the necessity to comply with these rules. If you saved the configuration and changed it in another infobase, you may not always be able to "just" load it back into the original infobase. In some situations, the platform will ask you to unlock objects of the original configuration if it is supported or bound to a repository.

When you deal with a .cf configuration file, you should change it using the means of 1С:Enterprise. But, as you know, the platform has another mechanism that allows you to make configuration changes without using the platform. This is the mechanism for dumping configurations to XML files and restoring configurations from XML files.

Development of this mechanism brought about potential configuration changes to bypass the rules required to support the configuration or repository operation. Such changes may lead to malfunction of the configuration.

For example, the configuration is fully supported and updated automatically. After restoring from XML files, it will continue to be fully supported, but will be different from the vendor configuration. Then the first automatic update will cause changes introduced through XML file editing to be removed.

Another example illustrates the situation when the configuration is bound to a repository. As a result of the configuration being restored from XML files, objects that are not locked in the repository will be restored and changed. When you update the database configuration, these changes will be included in the database. However, next time one of such objects is locked in the repository, the changes that were restored from XML files will be lost. This is due to the fact that during locking, Designer gets the latest version of the object from the repository. Thus, if when restored from XML files, some objects were added, they will be deleted when a parent object is locked.

In order to avoid such situations and make the platform operation more uniform, we have introduced a number of restrictions on restoring configurations from XML files. These restrictions apply to three situations.

Restoring into a configuration connected to a repository

cfa462cc5ab107f9364256c6a2945de7.png

  • Full restoration is not possible.
  • Partial restoration is possible only when all of the objects that will change after the restoration are locked in the repository.

Restoring into a fully supported configuration

a65bf9ea83183afe049066bcaf6bd54e.png

  • Full restoration is possible only when all the target configuration objects are editable.
  • Partial restoration is possible only when all the target configuration objects that will change after the restoration are editable.

Restoring a configuration that includes support settings

09241579824df858cb93cad3ef7dbb6f.png

If the XML dump includes support settings (file ParentConfigurations.xml):

  • Full restoration is not possible;
  • Partial restoration is not possible when the root object of the configuration is restored (file Configuration.xml).

We would like to provide a brief explanation of the latter. Removing configuration support interactively (in Designer) does not result in deleting of support settings from the data. Therefore this configuration, dumped to XML files, will still contain the file with support settings. This means that you can no longer restore it from XML files.

In order to be able to restore this configuration, you must delete the support settings file from the dump directory. If dumping was performed in flat format, this file is Configuration.ParentConfigurations. And if dumping was performed in hierarchical format, this file is Configuration.ParentConfigurations .bin.

As a result, the configuration will be restored without the support. You must also realize that all the information about the support settings will be lost. You will not be able to use it in the future.