Role editor





The role editor and the All Roles editor available in EDT have some differences from their counterparts available in Designer.

The main difference is that the editor only displays the objects with customized (nondefault) access rights. The Set rights for new objects check box defines the default role options. If you select this check box, the role grants all available rights to new objects. If you clear this check box, the role denies all available rights to new objects.

The following example shows how rights are granted.

An example configuration has two roles: GrantAll and DenyAll. The Set rights for new objects check box is selected for the GrantAll role and cleared for the DenyAll role. If you create catalogs Catalog1 and Catalog2, neither of them is displayed in any of the editors (they are not displayed in the All Roles editor or any single role editor). This is the correct behavior because the default rights are set for both catalogs.

To modify the default rights to Catalog1 in the DenyAll role, perform the following steps:

  1. Open the role editor for DenyAll.
  2. Add Catalog1 to the Objects list.
  3. Specify custom rights for this catalog.

To revert to the default object rights (specified in a role), remove the object from the Objects list of this role. For example, to revert to the default rights for Catalog1 in the DenyAll role, in the editor of the DenyAll role, remove the catalog from the Objects list.

You can perform similar operations in the All Roles editor.


Comments
0
Add comment